Immigration court

Newark Immigration Court

Newark, NJ, 07102

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Newark Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 31.6%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

31.6%

36,726

Decisions on record

95

Judges

Court location

970 Broad Street, Room 1200

Newark, NJ, 07102

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends3.7%36.9% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (3,912 decisions)37.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (3,732 decisions)36.5% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (3,804 decisions)34.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (3,835 decisions)33.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (3,873 decisions)32.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (3,956 decisions)33.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (3,948 decisions)28.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (3,680 decisions)27.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (3,674 decisions)26.1% — 12 months ending May 2024 (3,598 decisions)24.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (3,551 decisions)23.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (3,487 decisions)22.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (3,410 decisions)21.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (3,471 decisions)21.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (3,307 decisions)22.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (3,240 decisions)23.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (3,167 decisions)25.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (3,246 decisions)22.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (3,316 decisions)22.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (3,464 decisions)21.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (3,621 decisions)20.4% — 12 months ending May 2025 (3,787 decisions)20.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (3,919 decisions)20.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (3,861 decisions)19.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (3,739 decisions)18.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (3,640 decisions)18.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (3,616 decisions)17.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (3,524 decisions)15.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (3,676 decisions)10.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,740 decisions)7.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (4,175 decisions)6.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (4,728 decisions)4.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (4,866 decisions)4.4% — 12 months ending May 2026 (5,293 decisions)4.2% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (6,352 decisions)3.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (7,235 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Riefkohl, Alberto J.56.6%4,278
Akalski, Maria I.3.8%2,731
Garcy, Annie S.53.5%2,365
Lane, Nicole4.4%2,279
Dogin, Henry S.40.3%2,026
Chen, Shana W.10.8%1,938
Rastegar, Ramin30.9%1,575
Pugliese, Eugene33.6%1,297
Neal, Michael M.7.5%1,293
Mullican, Leila Mcneill.31.2%1,266
Finston, Leo A.40.9%1,211
Cheng, David38.5%1,195
Rubin, Shifra54.0%981
Wilson, Tamar H.32.6%919
Ryan, Dennis13.6%900
Ranasinghe, Arya S.43.3%836
Leeds, Frederic G.49.5%776
Pierro, Laura N.31.1%746
Nazaire, Karen0.0%738
Reichenberg, Margaret R.27.3%648
Bailey, Richard22.1%598
Meisner, Daniel A.31.2%586
Shirole, Pallavi S.23.8%495
Moore, Carol0.6%473
Pope, Jason L.34.1%460
Strasser, William62.1%448
Jeannopoulos, Amanda53.5%404
Mannion, Steve7.6%380
Khan, Amiena A.74.9%319
Cabrera, Esmeralda33.5%278
Kim, Nicole33.8%240
Hinds Roach, Denise A.19.7%239
Chugh, Amit63.8%218
Panopoulos, Adam28.6%199
Manuel, Elise37.4%198
Roy, Susan G.38.9%167
Little, Anna C.62.5%136
Johnson-Papillo, Carrie C.51.1%94
Picione, Anthony0.0%89
Lechtrecker, Kerri0.0%87
Counihan, Brian0.0%85
Straus, Michael W.52.6%57
Harris, Rodger C.57.8%45
Harbeck, Dorothy A.63.6%44
Tadal, Mirlande16.7%42
Kaplan, Elliot M.60.5%38
Verrillo, Philip79.4%34
Saltzman, Eva S.15.6%32
Burnham, Shayne R.0.0%26
Ling, Lisa W.0.0%25
Bakke Varzandeh, JoyceNot reported18
Reid, DaraNot reported16
Naselow-Nahas, TaraNot reported12
Klahr, Deborah E.Not reported11
Drucker, RichardNot reported10
Armstrong, Adrian N.Not reported9
Copeland, Cary H.Not reported8
Gagnon, Paul M.Not reported8
Ouslander, CharlesNot reported8
Page, Alan L.Not reported7
Costanzo, Lawrence DiNot reported6
Ehlers, Patrick J.Not reported6
Niburg, RebeccaNot reported5
Vargas-Padilla, Nelson A.Not reported5
Bartleson, ThomasNot reported4
Combs, CoreyNot reported4
Crosland, David W.Not reported4
Gover, ErinNot reported4
Christensen, Jesse B.Not reported3
Koppenhofer, AndreaNot reported3
Miller, Joe D.Not reported3
O'Malley, BrendaNot reported3
Patel, RoopalNot reported3
Pieters, EdwinNot reported3
Ayala, DavidNot reported2
D'Andrea, Holly A.Not reported2
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported2
Hom, SandyNot reported2
Kahan, MichelleNot reported2
Livingston, Donn L.Not reported2
ul-Haq, UbaidNot reported2
Wright, Virna A.Not reported2
Bain, Terry A.Not reported1
Beschta, Susan MNot reported1
Burns, JohnNot reported1
Chew, George T.Not reported1
Day, Steven F.Not reported1
Dicamillo, Angelo J.Not reported1
Furlong, John M.Not reported1
Morace, Philip L.Not reported1
Pelletier, J. DanNot reported1
Rohan, Patricia A.Not reported1
Sturla, Mario J.Not reported1
Ubarri, MariaNot reported1
Vomacka, Alan A.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.