Immigration court

Houston - Smith Street Immigration Court

Houston, TX, 77002

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Houston - Smith Street Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 11.7%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

11.7%

40,386

Decisions on record

99

Judges

Court location

Mickey Leland Federal Building, 1919 Smith Street, 14th Floor

Houston, TX, 77002

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends1.9%13.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (2,744 decisions)13.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (2,535 decisions)13.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (2,354 decisions)13.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (2,186 decisions)13.8% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (2,004 decisions)13.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (1,862 decisions)14.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (1,738 decisions)13.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (1,593 decisions)13.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (1,536 decisions)13.5% — 12 months ending May 2024 (1,485 decisions)13.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (1,482 decisions)12.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (1,451 decisions)11.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (1,418 decisions)10.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (1,440 decisions)11.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (1,531 decisions)10.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (1,588 decisions)11.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (1,689 decisions)10.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (1,856 decisions)9.4% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (2,163 decisions)8.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (2,488 decisions)7.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (2,847 decisions)7.1% — 12 months ending May 2025 (3,189 decisions)6.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (3,491 decisions)6.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (3,837 decisions)6.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (4,123 decisions)5.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (4,315 decisions)5.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (4,609 decisions)5.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (4,762 decisions)4.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (4,964 decisions)4.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (5,174 decisions)3.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (5,256 decisions)3.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (5,446 decisions)3.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (5,697 decisions)2.6% — 12 months ending May 2026 (5,945 decisions)2.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (6,710 decisions)1.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (6,975 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Bhagat, Nimmo9.5%5,122
Endelman, Gary E.9.2%5,044
Brown, Sam1.7%2,698
Picos, Georgina M.8.6%2,291
Yates, Clarease Rankin29.9%2,096
Khan, Anwer A.5.2%2,031
Greenstein, Saul E.7.7%1,899
Gemoets, Marcos6.3%1,797
Harris, Monique3.5%1,706
Nguyen, Bao Q.11.8%1,692
Ramos, Maritza S.5.5%1,539
Zimmer, William K.36.8%1,247
Brisack, Chris A.25.6%1,105
Wang, Lynn2.6%1,099
Law, Philip S.41.8%1,097
Jamadar, Richard A.11.0%890
Walton, Richard D.9.8%836
Gorman, Stephanie10.9%704
FENELON, ZAHRA JIVANI5.1%489
Hughes, Erica4.4%361
Parikh, Kiera0.0%347
Brown, Robert36.3%344
Osborn, Joshua D.15.5%335
Peterson, William C.29.9%334
Yam, Mimi29.1%326
Luis, Lisa14.4%250
Guidry, Monica Thompson2.4%248
Mcguirk, Erica J.1.2%242
Tida, Abdias E.0.0%210
Benton, Jimmie Lee33.5%185
May, Jennifer A.3.5%171
Greenbaum, Scott V.1.3%159
Hartnett, Sarah30.7%153
Vail, Joseph29.0%131
Imbacuan, Bruce3.9%130
Muneer, Revathi0.0%129
Freeman, D'Anna H.15.9%126
Castrolugo, Elisa0.0%65
Suarez, Michael K.6.6%61
Hart, Brandon L.0.0%48
Jacobs, Richard C.12.8%47
Sydnor, Kelley N0.0%47
Leonard, Joseph T.4.9%41
Bales, Eric C.0.0%38
Eller, Donald R.0.0%36
Winkle, Howard Van43.8%32
Rose, Howard38.7%31
Bashore, Jacob D.0.0%29
Martinez, Hugo R.3.5%29
Thielemann, Christopher J.8.0%25
John-Baptiste, AllanNot reported18
Burgess, Abraham L.Not reported16
Archuleta, JudyNot reported15
Ellison, Sarah M.Not reported15
Carle, John B.Not reported12
Hsu, Lily CNot reported11
Savage, Patrick S.Not reported11
Videla, Gabriel C.Not reported11
Kandler, Edward R.Not reported10
Recio, Irene M.Not reported10
Uddin, Marium S.Not reported10
Wagner, Clarence M.Not reported10
Young, Elizabeth L.Not reported10
Ayze, ThomasNot reported9
Maingot, Anthony E.Not reported9
Schools, Shelly W.Not reported9
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported8
Hom, Howard C.Not reported8
Martinez-Esquivel, LourdesNot reported8
Ghartey, Victoria L.Not reported7
Pleters, Michael S.Not reported7
Alexander, Scott G.Not reported6
Balasquide, Javier E.Not reported5
Hansen, Katherine L.Not reported5
Adkins-Blanch, CharlesNot reported4
Howard, Justin W.Not reported4
Midgley, Ian D.Not reported4
Page-Lozano, Jennifer LeighNot reported4
Rahill, Michael F.Not reported4
Mahasa, ZakiaNot reported3
Sharp, NoelleNot reported3
Araneta, MichelleNot reported2
Behne, Audra R.Not reported2
Cordero Gonzalez, Miguel A.Not reported2
Duck, John A.Not reported2
Lucic, Nicholas B.Not reported2
Mahtabfar, Sunita B.Not reported2
Nugent, James A.Not reported2
Onyewuchi, Morris I.Not reported2
Polivka, James F.Not reported2
Powell, Robert L.Not reported2
Dean, Larry R.Not reported1
Fluke, Randall L.Not reported1
Gonzalez, Guadalupe R.Not reported1
Jackler, Megan R.Not reported1
Jaroch, BrandonNot reported1
Lee, AlexanderNot reported1
Mwangi, FrancisNot reported1
Sapp, Billy J.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.