Immigration judge

Walton, Richard D.

Houston - Smith Street Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

9.8%

836 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

11.7%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Nov 2012Jan 2015May 2018Dec 2019Aug 2021Month each 12-month window ends6.0%34.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2012 (76 decisions)34.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2012 (79 decisions)33.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2013 (83 decisions)32.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2013 (83 decisions)32.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2013 (84 decisions)30.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2013 (83 decisions)25.0% — 12 months ending May 2013 (84 decisions)25.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2013 (75 decisions)28.0% — 12 months ending Oct 2013 (75 decisions)28.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2014 (67 decisions)32.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2014 (61 decisions)29.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2015 (61 decisions)24.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2015 (69 decisions)22.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2015 (70 decisions)18.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2015 (76 decisions)17.0% — 12 months ending May 2015 (88 decisions)11.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2015 (110 decisions)8.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2015 (106 decisions)8.2% — 12 months ending May 2018 (98 decisions)8.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (98 decisions)4.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (100 decisions)3.0% — 12 months ending May 2019 (100 decisions)1.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (139 decisions)1.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (163 decisions)1.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (173 decisions)1.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (213 decisions)3.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2019 (260 decisions)2.9% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (312 decisions)2.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (345 decisions)4.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (435 decisions)4.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (525 decisions)4.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (583 decisions)4.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2020 (578 decisions)4.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2021 (578 decisions)5.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2021 (552 decisions)6.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2021 (521 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

10 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
August 20214Not reported
July 202114Not reported
January 20211Not reported
April 20201Not reported
March 2020598.5%
February 2020913.3%
January 2020939.7%
December 2019630.0%
November 2019684.4%
October 2019606.7%
September 2019454.4%
August 201922Not reported
July 2019350.0%
June 2019400.0%
May 20191Not reported
April 20196Not reported
November 20181Not reported
May 20181Not reported
December 20153Not reported
June 2015300.0%
May 201516Not reported
April 201513Not reported
March 20155Not reported
February 201512Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.