Immigration court

San Diego Immigration Court

San Diego, CA, 92101

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

San Diego Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 33.7%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

33.7%

15,175

Decisions on record

71

Judges

Court location

880 Front Street, Suite 4240

San Diego, CA, 92101

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends4.2%49.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (618 decisions)54.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (576 decisions)56.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (566 decisions)59.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (538 decisions)61.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (542 decisions)61.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (528 decisions)62.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (508 decisions)59.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (483 decisions)59.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (482 decisions)56.2% — 12 months ending May 2024 (484 decisions)58.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (504 decisions)57.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (551 decisions)54.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (583 decisions)52.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (599 decisions)50.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (569 decisions)48.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (584 decisions)47.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (594 decisions)47.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (616 decisions)44.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (644 decisions)39.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (701 decisions)34.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (777 decisions)30.7% — 12 months ending May 2025 (896 decisions)25.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,014 decisions)20.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (1,123 decisions)17.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (1,233 decisions)14.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (1,302 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (1,386 decisions)11.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (1,442 decisions)9.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (1,480 decisions)7.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (1,543 decisions)6.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (1,590 decisions)5.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,719 decisions)5.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (1,843 decisions)4.5% — 12 months ending May 2026 (1,850 decisions)4.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (1,838 decisions)4.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (1,738 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Bartolomei, Rico J.46.4%1,163
Atenaide, Anthony38.9%922
Fernandez, Ignacio P.56.0%913
Depaolo, Zsa Zsa45.9%882
Anderson, Amelia21.2%782
Law, Philip S.24.5%779
Renner, Renee L.50.2%735
Ipema, Henry P.45.9%719
Bagley, Kenneth A.37.0%692
Williams, John C.64.4%675
Simpson, Scott18.6%571
Penalosa, Jose L.3.5%569
Barrett, Robert J.54.7%552
O'Connor, Lee12.8%500
Clemente, Jesus17.5%468
Grande, Guy G.36.7%450
Devitto, James33.8%423
Attia, Olga E.10.0%411
Romig, Jeffrey L.16.5%405
Halliday-Roberts, Catherine E.14.3%365
Mcseveney, Robert B.C.17.4%304
Bither, Christine A.16.6%296
Heesch, Meghan E.22.8%294
Boone, Gaylyn N.29.4%276
Ragusa, Joseph M.17.1%228
Partida, Ana41.3%155
Najjar, George R.43.9%148
Begovich, Samantha9.5%116
Pepi, Lindsay W.2.1%96
Crosland, David W.18.5%65
Pressman, Christian M.22.6%62
Burch, Valerie A.32.7%55
Kinnicutt, Daniel P.Not reported12
Glaser-Allen, ColleenNot reported7
Richardson, John W.Not reported7
Ishimoto, RhanaNot reported6
Sameit, MarkNot reported6
Cottor, Elizabeth ANot reported5
Defonzo, PaulNot reported5
Snow, Thomas G.Not reported5
Dorfman, Arlene E.Not reported4
Schoppert, Douglas B.Not reported4
Holmes-Simmons, TheresaNot reported3
Huddleston, NatalieNot reported3
Obrien, LeahNot reported3
Anderson, David C.Not reported2
Carbone, Nina M.Not reported2
Daugherty, Daniel J.Not reported2
Desai, JankhanaNot reported2
Neumeister, William DavidNot reported2
Owens, Robert P.Not reported2
Park, Jeannette LimNot reported2
Rubin, ShifraNot reported2
Barcus, E. MarkNot reported1
Bass, Lori R.Not reported1
Brennan, Noel A.Not reported1
Christensen, Jesse B.Not reported1
Depowell, Bryan E.Not reported1
Dixon, PaulaNot reported1
Frazer, Molly S.Not reported1
Garcy, Annie S.Not reported1
Hollis, Wendell A.Not reported1
Kirchner, Steven M.Not reported1
Marcus, StevenNot reported1
Mcdermott, Ann M.Not reported1
Peyton, Jennifer I.Not reported1
Ruane, Rachel AnnNot reported1
Sharda, MunishNot reported1
Vinikoor, Robert D.Not reported1
Waterloo, Jason R.Not reported1
White, Curtis G.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.