Immigration judge

Law, Philip S.

San Diego Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

24.5%

779 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

33.7%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Dec 2019Sep 2020Jun 2021Mar 2022Jan 2023Dec 2023Month each 12-month window ends50.0%14.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (177 decisions)13.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (191 decisions)13.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (200 decisions)13.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (205 decisions)10.6% — 12 months ending Jun 2020 (188 decisions)9.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2020 (178 decisions)9.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2020 (165 decisions)10.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2020 (154 decisions)14.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2021 (151 decisions)15.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2021 (145 decisions)16.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2021 (141 decisions)19.5% — 12 months ending May 2021 (118 decisions)20.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2021 (92 decisions)24.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2021 (77 decisions)33.9% — 12 months ending Aug 2021 (56 decisions)43.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2021 (46 decisions)40.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2021 (52 decisions)37.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2021 (54 decisions)37.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2022 (54 decisions)39.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2022 (64 decisions)31.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2022 (60 decisions)36.1% — 12 months ending May 2022 (61 decisions)37.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2022 (56 decisions)35.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2022 (54 decisions)30.9% — 12 months ending Aug 2022 (55 decisions)32.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2022 (55 decisions)29.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2022 (51 decisions)35.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2022 (51 decisions)40.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2023 (45 decisions)41.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2023 (43 decisions)43.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2023 (46 decisions)42.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2023 (35 decisions)41.7% — 12 months ending May 2023 (36 decisions)35.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2023 (34 decisions)41.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (34 decisions)50.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (34 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

13 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
December 20233Not reported
October 20232Not reported
June 20233Not reported
May 20233Not reported
April 20231Not reported
March 20234Not reported
February 20231Not reported
January 20231Not reported
November 20226Not reported
October 20222Not reported
September 20221Not reported
August 20227Not reported
July 20223Not reported
June 20222Not reported
May 20225Not reported
April 20222Not reported
March 202212Not reported
January 20221Not reported
November 20213Not reported
October 20217Not reported
September 20216Not reported
August 20216Not reported
July 20211Not reported
June 20216Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.