Immigration judge

Penalosa, Jose L., JR.

San Diego Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

How current these figures are

Captured September 23, 2026 — yesterday. Decisions made since then are not included.

577

Lifetime decisions on record

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

1.6%

313 decisions · 12 months ending August 2026

16.1%

FY2025 court average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2024Jan 2025Jun 2025Nov 2025Aug 2026Month each 12-month window ends1.6%23.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (34 decisions)17.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (41 decisions)11.6% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (43 decisions)10.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (48 decisions)9.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (53 decisions)16.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (59 decisions)15.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (63 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (70 decisions)8.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (93 decisions)7.8% — 12 months ending May 2025 (115 decisions)5.6% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (142 decisions)4.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (200 decisions)3.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (229 decisions)2.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (248 decisions)3.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (258 decisions)3.9% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (256 decisions)3.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (274 decisions)1.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (314 decisions)1.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (327 decisions)1.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (360 decisions)1.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (379 decisions)1.0% — 12 months ending May 2026 (381 decisions)1.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (384 decisions)1.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (343 decisions)1.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2026 (313 decisions)

10 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
August 20269Not reported
July 202621Not reported
June 2026323.1%
May 2026300.0%
April 2026440.0%
March 2026420.0%
February 202619Not reported
January 2026480.0%
December 202523Not reported
November 20254Not reported
October 202514Not reported
September 2025270.0%
August 2025392.6%
July 2025620.0%
June 2025290.0%
May 2025283.6%
April 2025250.0%
March 20259Not reported
February 20256Not reported
January 20258Not reported
December 20245Not reported
November 20246Not reported
October 20244Not reported
September 20248Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 23, 2026, yesterday. The record covers decisions from September 2023 through August 2026; nothing filed or decided after August 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.