Immigration court

Phoenix Immigration Court

Phoenix, AZ, 85007

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Phoenix Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 31.9%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

31.9%

15,753

Decisions on record

54

Judges

Court location

250 N. Seventh Ave., Suite 300

Phoenix, AZ, 85007

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends4.0%29.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (977 decisions)29.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (996 decisions)31.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (976 decisions)33.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (1,004 decisions)35.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (1,057 decisions)36.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (1,054 decisions)37.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (1,054 decisions)31.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (921 decisions)31.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (960 decisions)31.2% — 12 months ending May 2024 (970 decisions)31.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (979 decisions)30.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (1,000 decisions)31.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (1,028 decisions)29.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (1,036 decisions)28.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (1,147 decisions)26.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (1,198 decisions)27.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (1,239 decisions)24.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (1,345 decisions)22.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (1,424 decisions)21.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,542 decisions)19.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (1,658 decisions)17.7% — 12 months ending May 2025 (1,754 decisions)15.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,990 decisions)14.6% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (2,206 decisions)13.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (2,396 decisions)12.2% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (2,590 decisions)10.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (2,723 decisions)9.9% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (2,808 decisions)7.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (2,882 decisions)6.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,216 decisions)5.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (3,675 decisions)5.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (4,169 decisions)4.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (4,549 decisions)4.8% — 12 months ending May 2026 (4,910 decisions)4.6% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (5,081 decisions)4.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (5,396 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Cortes, John W.8.0%2,083
Richardson, John W.79.3%1,856
Sharda, Munish10.5%1,600
Freerks, Lamonte S.67.9%1,583
Cottor, Elizabeth A13.8%1,481
Habich, Paul M.11.6%1,446
Gaz, Jennifer I.11.0%1,100
Karlen, Melissa Beth17.8%1,038
Hollis, Wendell A.74.9%957
Guerrero, Marni5.9%783
Spencer-Walters, Linda I.28.5%358
Arellano, Silvia R.61.5%299
Levay, Dean A.52.7%281
Bartlemay SR., Robert C.27.2%261
Coughlon, Robert E.27.1%155
Imburgia, Joseph S.27.9%140
Josephson, Kenneth23.1%52
Knuck, Richard H.55.3%47
Feldman, Irene C.20.0%35
Leonard, Joseph T.Not reported22
Bain, Quynh VuNot reported17
Niziolek, Alec J.Not reported15
Hoogasian, Amy C.Not reported12
Kuipers, BenjaminNot reported8
O'Leary, Thomas MichaelNot reported8
Carbone, Nina M.Not reported7
Eller, Donald R.Not reported7
Fernandez, Ignacio P.Not reported7
Hart, Brandon L.Not reported7
Sydnor, Kelley NNot reported7
Bales, Eric C.Not reported6
Bartolomei, Rico J.Not reported6
Guidry, Monica ThompsonNot reported6
Jefferies, Scott M.Not reported6
Atenaide, AnthonyNot reported5
Ellison, Sarah M.Not reported5
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported5
Ipema, Henry P.Not reported5
Williams, John C.Not reported5
Williams, Phillip T.Not reported5
Bagley, Kenneth A.Not reported4
Griffiths, NancyNot reported4
Keenan, Sean H.Not reported3
Morris, Adam R.Not reported3
Romig, Jeffrey L.Not reported3
Rovinsky, JeremyNot reported2
Barrett, Robert J.Not reported1
Boone, Gaylyn N.Not reported1
Freeman, D'Anna H.Not reported1
Hakiman, DamonaNot reported1
May, Jennifer A.Not reported1
Neal, David L.Not reported1
Ragusa, Joseph M.Not reported1
Taylor, Bruce A.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.