Immigration court

Otay Mesa Immigration Court

San Diego, CA, 92154

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Otay Mesa Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 28.5%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

28.5%

2,769

Decisions on record

46

Judges

Court location

7488 Calzada de la Fuente

San Diego, CA, 92154

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends25.9%24.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (94 decisions)22.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (92 decisions)20.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (101 decisions)21.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (112 decisions)18.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (122 decisions)15.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (127 decisions)16.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (144 decisions)17.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (157 decisions)19.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (171 decisions)18.7% — 12 months ending May 2024 (182 decisions)18.6% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (188 decisions)19.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (205 decisions)19.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (217 decisions)20.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (219 decisions)22.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (225 decisions)23.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (219 decisions)28.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (227 decisions)32.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (246 decisions)31.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (255 decisions)34.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (275 decisions)36.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (296 decisions)37.3% — 12 months ending May 2025 (330 decisions)37.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (387 decisions)37.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (443 decisions)35.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (487 decisions)34.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (559 decisions)33.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (617 decisions)32.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (668 decisions)31.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (702 decisions)29.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (727 decisions)28.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (785 decisions)27.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (829 decisions)26.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (846 decisions)26.8% — 12 months ending May 2026 (847 decisions)26.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (835 decisions)25.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (791 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Sameit, Mark25.5%448
Robinson JR., Eugene H.37.7%300
Partida, Ana35.7%263
Halliday-Roberts, Catherine E.25.8%260
Burch, Valerie A.38.3%227
Attia, Olga E.19.8%157
Dixon, Paula28.6%140
Simpson, Scott18.3%137
Grande, Guy G.25.4%134
Depaolo, Zsa Zsa30.9%123
Anderson, Amelia16.3%92
Heesch, Meghan E.21.1%90
Obrien, Leah13.6%81
Driscoll, John T.40.0%60
Begovich, Samantha28.6%35
Penalosa, Jose L.3.2%31
Law, Philip S.20.7%29
Ortiz, Ferdinand J.75.9%29
Bartolomei, Rico J.Not reported23
Romig, Jeffrey L.Not reported21
Najjar, George R.Not reported16
O'Connor, LeeNot reported11
Gonzalez, Yvonne S.Not reported6
Nelson, Julie L.Not reported6
Salinardi, JaymeNot reported6
Devitto, JamesNot reported5
Ipema, Henry P.Not reported5
Zander, Stuart J.Not reported5
Coughlon, Robert E.Not reported4
Nishiyama, Drew T.Not reported3
Perez-Guzman, VirginiaNot reported3
Weiss, Daniel H.Not reported3
Perry, Anne KristinaNot reported2
Virchis, BridgetNot reported2
Archuleta, JudyNot reported1
Cho, Yul-miNot reported1
Clemente, JesusNot reported1
Daugherty, Daniel J.Not reported1
Glaser-Allen, ColleenNot reported1
Kim, Peter A.Not reported1
Martin, Clay NelsonNot reported1
Munoz, Jeffrey V.Not reported1
Paul, Nancy J.Not reported1
Renner, Renee L.Not reported1
Sarkany, Sergio F.Not reported1
Scala, TheresaNot reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.