Immigration judge

Burch, Valerie A.

Otay Mesa Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

38.3%

227 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

31.6%

51 decisions · 12 months ending February 2025

28.5%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jun 2019Mar 2021Apr 2022May 2023Feb 2025Month each 12-month window ends31.6%48.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (54 decisions)44.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (61 decisions)45.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (75 decisions)42.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (87 decisions)45.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2019 (105 decisions)44.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (113 decisions)45.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (120 decisions)43.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (123 decisions)43.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (120 decisions)42.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (116 decisions)43.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2021 (107 decisions)41.9% — 12 months ending Aug 2021 (93 decisions)42.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2021 (85 decisions)44.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2022 (79 decisions)41.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2022 (67 decisions)43.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2023 (57 decisions)35.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2023 (40 decisions)39.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2023 (33 decisions)35.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2023 (28 decisions)36.0% — 12 months ending May 2023 (25 decisions)24.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (25 decisions)24.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (25 decisions)25.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (28 decisions)28.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (32 decisions)29.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (37 decisions)29.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (41 decisions)23.9% — 12 months ending May 2024 (46 decisions)24.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (45 decisions)22.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (48 decisions)21.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (51 decisions)21.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (51 decisions)30.5% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (59 decisions)29.8% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (57 decisions)30.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (59 decisions)31.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (57 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

9 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
February 20253Not reported
January 20253Not reported
December 20243Not reported
October 202411Not reported
September 20242Not reported
August 20244Not reported
July 20246Not reported
June 20241Not reported
May 20247Not reported
April 20245Not reported
March 20246Not reported
February 20246Not reported
January 20245Not reported
December 20231Not reported
November 20235Not reported
October 20233Not reported
September 20232Not reported
July 20231Not reported
June 20233Not reported
May 20232Not reported
April 20232Not reported
March 20231Not reported
February 20231Not reported
January 20232Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.