Immigration court

New York - Varick Street Immigration Court

New York, NY, 10014

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

New York - Varick Street Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 31.5%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

31.5%

25,035

Decisions on record

96

Judges

Court location

201 Varick Street, 5th Floor Room 507

New York, NY, 10014

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends7.8%37.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (4,294 decisions)39.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (4,228 decisions)41.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (4,171 decisions)43.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (4,202 decisions)44.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (4,156 decisions)44.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (4,103 decisions)46.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (4,049 decisions)46.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (3,986 decisions)47.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (4,081 decisions)48.1% — 12 months ending May 2024 (4,168 decisions)49.2% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (4,234 decisions)50.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (4,274 decisions)49.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (4,127 decisions)48.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (3,996 decisions)47.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (3,899 decisions)45.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (3,831 decisions)45.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (3,853 decisions)44.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (3,782 decisions)44.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (3,773 decisions)43.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (3,812 decisions)41.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (3,814 decisions)40.0% — 12 months ending May 2025 (3,806 decisions)38.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (3,875 decisions)36.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (3,857 decisions)35.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (3,920 decisions)33.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (3,900 decisions)31.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (3,815 decisions)30.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (3,787 decisions)27.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (3,670 decisions)24.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,654 decisions)21.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (3,615 decisions)18.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (3,690 decisions)15.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (3,795 decisions)12.5% — 12 months ending May 2026 (4,045 decisions)9.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (4,249 decisions)7.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (4,450 decisions)

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Ling, Lisa W.37.3%3,494
Reid, Dara14.7%2,397
Burnham, Shayne R.39.3%2,284
DeCure, John19.3%1,481
Drucker, Richard36.8%1,352
Mungoven, Thomas43.1%1,282
Kolbe, Margaret43.6%1,155
Vomacka, Alan A.9.3%1,155
Conroy, Charles R.13.0%1,119
Prieto, Francisco R.26.6%1,096
Mulligan, Thomas J.51.5%1,082
Page, Alan L.21.2%942
Ouslander, Charles20.0%714
Cortes, John W.34.2%489
Norkin, David66.7%478
Wedderburn, Wendy31.2%443
Durkin, Jennifer54.2%369
Akalski, Maria I.0.3%310
Billings, Lucy54.2%297
Rubin, Shifra74.9%283
Lalor, Kieran2.1%235
Abrams, Steven R.39.9%223
Auh, Kyung S.35.6%219
Sagerman, Roger F.33.0%203
Aliferis, Themistoklis42.3%201
Tsankov, Mimi14.6%192
Farber, Lauren T.15.8%190
Hoover, Forrest W.49.7%179
Lopez, Silvia70.9%134
Horton, Monte J.43.2%132
ul-Haq, Ubaid22.9%131
London, Charlesa E.26.6%124
Bowen, Denise3.7%82
Ferris, Noel A.34.6%78
Taylor, Khalilah55.4%56
Videla, Gabriel C.16.1%56
Averwater, Richard J.69.8%53
Buchanan, Patricia L.11.9%42
Mccarthy, James M.Not reported23
Renner, Renee L.Not reported19
Thompson, Donald W.Not reported19
Rey Caldas, CarmenNot reported16
Mckee, JamesNot reported12
Peal, TieshaNot reported12
Clemente, JesusNot reported11
Schoppert, Douglas B.Not reported11
Sichel, HelenNot reported8
Brennan, Noel A.Not reported7
Loprest, F. JamesNot reported7
Poczter, Aviva L.Not reported7
Wilson, Earle BNot reported7
Leeds, Frederic G.Not reported6
Lyons, JorenNot reported6
Perl, AdamNot reported6
Bartleson, ThomasNot reported5
Burns, JohnNot reported5
Hewitt, AndrewNot reported5
Johnson-Papillo, Carrie C.Not reported5
Siemietkowski, JohnNot reported5
Sponzo, Jem C.Not reported5
Weisel, Robert D.Not reported5
Christensen, Jesse B.Not reported4
Cohen, RaisaNot reported4
Gordon-Uruakpa, Vivienne E.Not reported4
Laforest, BrigitteNot reported4
Rohan, Patricia A.Not reported4
Zagzoug, RandaNot reported4
Dodd, DianeNot reported3
Douchy, Evalyn P.Not reported3
Geisse, LoretoNot reported3
Gordon, CynthiaNot reported3
Lurye, MariaNot reported3
Nelson, Barbara A.Not reported3
Ramirez, Laura L.Not reported3
Balasquide, Javier E.Not reported2
Hinds Roach, Denise A.Not reported2
Mart, H. KevinNot reported2
Nassar, DaniaNot reported2
Alexander, ErinNot reported1
Bain, Terry A.Not reported1
Chew, George T.Not reported1
Hart, Brandon L.Not reported1
Henderson, JohnNot reported1
Hom, SandyNot reported1
Khan, Amiena A.Not reported1
Kulick, DawnNot reported1
Lebreton, TanawaNot reported1
Mazzie, Sarah B.Not reported1
Mcfarland, Michael G.Not reported1
Mcmanus, MargaretNot reported1
Morace, Philip L.Not reported1
Palmer, Brian T.Not reported1
Segal, AliceNot reported1
Vargas-Padilla, Nelson A.Not reported1
Wright, Virna A.Not reported1
Wyke, William VanNot reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.