Immigration court

Hartford Immigration Court

Hartford, CT, 06103-3015

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Hartford Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 32.3%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

32.3%

11,014

Decisions on record

43

Judges

Court location

AA Ribicoff Federal Building & Courthouse, 450 Main Street, Suite 628

Hartford, CT, 06103-3015

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends6.3%37.7% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (605 decisions)37.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (567 decisions)37.0% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (568 decisions)38.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (569 decisions)43.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (628 decisions)44.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (633 decisions)44.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (657 decisions)40.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (644 decisions)39.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (672 decisions)40.7% — 12 months ending May 2024 (708 decisions)40.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (745 decisions)41.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (814 decisions)40.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (869 decisions)40.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (935 decisions)38.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (1,046 decisions)36.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (1,175 decisions)34.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (1,241 decisions)33.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (1,322 decisions)32.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (1,384 decisions)32.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,478 decisions)30.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (1,562 decisions)29.1% — 12 months ending May 2025 (1,607 decisions)28.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,585 decisions)27.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (1,572 decisions)27.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (1,585 decisions)26.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (1,561 decisions)25.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (1,470 decisions)23.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (1,370 decisions)20.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (1,295 decisions)18.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (1,249 decisions)16.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (1,214 decisions)13.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,262 decisions)11.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (1,248 decisions)10.2% — 12 months ending May 2026 (1,362 decisions)7.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (1,573 decisions)6.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (1,800 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Straus, Michael W.32.4%5,164
Verrillo, Philip52.8%1,753
Morris, Daniel A.21.4%1,663
Munson, Angela2.0%647
Doolittle, Theodore42.9%343
Goulding, Jonathan44.6%231
D'Angelo, Matthew J.42.5%174
Olson, Christine0.0%171
Carte', John D.30.2%169
Gagnon, Paul M.61.5%143
Sawwan, Sarah0.0%108
Monaco, Jared0.0%72
Glass, Andrew J.28.3%60
Slitt, Andrew J.0.0%46
Dufresne, Jill H.51.4%35
DeCure, John14.7%34
Owens, Robert P.65.4%26
Nierva, Julian R.Not reported17
Sheppard, PatriciaNot reported17
Joyce, WilliamNot reported16
Klein, ElizaNot reported15
Jordan, JamesNot reported14
Calvelli, AndrewNot reported12
Gossart, John F.Not reported10
Ragno, Thomas M.Not reported10
Shapiro, Leonard I.Not reported9
Costanzo, Lawrence DiNot reported8
D'Ambrosio, Billino WNot reported7
Koppenhofer, AndreaNot reported7
Cassidy, William A.Not reported5
Hewitt, AndrewNot reported5
Adkins-Blanch, CharlesNot reported3
Ashworth, SherronNot reported3
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported3
Romig, Jeffrey L.Not reported3
Barrett, Bruce M.Not reported2
Grant, M. ChristopherNot reported2
Imburgia, Joseph S.Not reported2
Bennett, JustinNot reported1
Frames, Kathryn E.Not reported1
Malphrus, Garry D.Not reported1
Miller, Joe D.Not reported1
Walter, Patricia W.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.