Immigration court

Boston Immigration Court

Boston, MA, 02203

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Boston Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 50.4%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

50.4%

35,106

Decisions on record

128

Judges

Court location

JFK Federal Building, 15 New Sudbury Street, Room 320

Boston, MA, 02203

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends14.9%47.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (4,177 decisions)46.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (4,209 decisions)46.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (4,337 decisions)46.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (4,520 decisions)47.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (4,699 decisions)46.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (4,879 decisions)46.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (4,955 decisions)44.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (4,873 decisions)45.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (4,658 decisions)46.2% — 12 months ending May 2024 (4,405 decisions)48.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (4,146 decisions)48.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (3,981 decisions)49.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (3,760 decisions)49.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (3,564 decisions)50.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (3,415 decisions)51.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (3,147 decisions)52.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (2,871 decisions)53.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (2,627 decisions)52.4% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (2,521 decisions)51.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (2,478 decisions)49.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (2,833 decisions)46.4% — 12 months ending May 2025 (3,113 decisions)44.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (3,328 decisions)42.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (3,512 decisions)41.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (3,653 decisions)39.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (3,813 decisions)36.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (3,861 decisions)34.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (3,946 decisions)31.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (3,956 decisions)28.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,994 decisions)27.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (3,965 decisions)24.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (3,934 decisions)22.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (3,734 decisions)20.7% — 12 months ending May 2026 (3,663 decisions)18.2% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (3,761 decisions)14.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (3,942 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
O'Malley, Brenda62.7%3,160
Sturla, Mario J.33.0%2,867
O'Sullivan, Maureen85.0%2,546
Feder, Robin E.70.8%1,946
Shapiro, Leonard I.61.3%1,938
Klein, Eliza59.9%1,926
Masters, Todd A.30.7%1,768
Gagnon, Paul M.65.5%1,681
Kahan, Michelle22.0%1,565
Cade, Sarah46.1%1,424
D'Angelo, Matthew J.64.1%1,419
Furlong, John M.26.3%1,261
Sheppard, Patricia51.1%988
Tregerman, Gwendylan E.44.1%978
Patel, Roopal32.3%894
Gover, Erin46.1%788
Cramer, Francis L.54.5%738
Donovan, Mark D.43.6%624
Joyce, William65.4%425
Saldana Mistry, Lucero35.1%325
Ragno, Thomas M.32.5%323
Sady, Michael52.3%287
Kubica, Hannah26.5%283
Terrien, Jeb31.1%277
Jalelian, Lincoln S.41.1%258
Munro, Angela35.1%248
Roe, Adrian N.44.8%248
Menezes de Araujo, Juliana10.3%195
Holmes-Simmons, Theresa80.4%189
Napier, Wade Thomas46.5%183
D'Ambrosio, Billino W31.3%179
Harris, Rodger C.74.1%170
Robertson, David11.1%162
Cato, Richard40.1%152
Rusher, Marna M57.9%145
Ahmed, Sameer87.2%133
Cho, Yul-mi10.1%129
Pappas, George25.2%127
Mulcahy, Jennifer A18.9%122
Sanchez, Jose A.29.8%114
Day, Steven F.28.3%113
Smith, Natalie29.4%109
Adler, Steven V.71.3%108
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.49.5%95
Bain, Quynh Vu73.1%93
Luskin, Joshua D.48.4%91
McEwen, Justin61.9%84
Ostrom, Donald27.7%83
Hall, Jonathan36.8%76
Rainey, Zol1.4%71
Gillespie, Taylor0.0%65
Rivera, Tamaira58.7%63
Griffiths, Nancy39.7%58
Santiago, Luisa32.1%56
Walter, Patricia W.5.6%54
Piateski, Jennifer E.50.0%52
Karram, Omar Z.3.9%51
Schools, Shelly W.16.3%43
Santen, Sean D.69.1%42
Jaysura, Tanzania0.0%34
Straus, Michael W.55.9%34
Adkins-Blanch, Charles51.6%31
Burman, Lawrence O.46.2%26
Herndon, Megan B.68.0%25
Josephson, Kenneth44.0%25
Verrillo, PhilipNot reported24
Nugent, James A.Not reported19
Reichenberg, Margaret R.Not reported19
Glass, Andrew J.Not reported16
Honeyman, Charles M.Not reported14
Karesh, EllenNot reported14
Tadal, MirlandeNot reported14
Weil, Jack H.Not reported14
Ward, George JamesNot reported13
Peterson, William C.Not reported10
Stockton, Bette KaneNot reported10
Taylor, KhalilahNot reported10
Garcy, Annie S.Not reported9
Hart, Brandon L.Not reported7
Kaplan, Elliot M.Not reported7
Baez, LucyNot reported6
Bashore, Jacob D.Not reported6
Costanzo, Lawrence DiNot reported6
Krasinski, CarolynNot reported6
Miranda, Pedro A.Not reported6
Weisel, Robert D.Not reported6
Munson, AngelaNot reported5
Campanella, LorianneNot reported4
Chung, JenniferNot reported4
Couch, V. StuartNot reported4
Dogin, Henry S.Not reported4
Driscoll, RobertNot reported4
Eller, Donald R.Not reported4
Mungoven, ThomasNot reported4
Palmer, Brian T.Not reported4
Phan-Quang, TueNot reported4
Pugliese, EugeneNot reported4
Staton, Jack W.Not reported4
Thielemann, Christopher J.Not reported4
Thomsen, ScottNot reported4
Abrams, Steven R.Not reported3
Grogan, EdwardNot reported3
King, Carol A.Not reported3
Nelson, Barbara A.Not reported3
Purnell, Charles N.Not reported3
Bartleson, ThomasNot reported2
Chew, George T.Not reported2
Douchy, Evalyn P.Not reported2
Duck, John A.Not reported2
Gorman, StephanieNot reported2
Khan, Amiena A.Not reported2
Mangoli, Vimala S.Not reported2
Norkin, DavidNot reported2
Chen, Shana W.Not reported1
Cheng, DavidNot reported1
Cheng, MaryNot reported1
Geisse, LoretoNot reported1
Gundlach, RobertNot reported1
Houser, Wayne K.Not reported1
Kassell, JosephNot reported1
Lloyd, MichaelNot reported1
May, Jennifer A.Not reported1
Newberry, Robert D.Not reported1
Niburg, RebeccaNot reported1
Shirole, Pallavi S.Not reported1
Tripi, MichaelNot reported1
Wilson, Earle BNot reported1
Wyke, William VanNot reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.