Immigration judge

Montante Jr., Philip J.

Buffalo Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

25.3%

740 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

20.5%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jan 2015Jan 2016May 2018Mar 2020Month each 12-month window ends0.0%46.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2015 (32 decisions)46.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2015 (32 decisions)46.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2015 (32 decisions)48.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2015 (33 decisions)45.7% — 12 months ending May 2015 (35 decisions)40.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2015 (40 decisions)31.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2015 (35 decisions)32.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2015 (34 decisions)31.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2015 (32 decisions)30.0% — 12 months ending Oct 2015 (30 decisions)18.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2015 (27 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2015 (26 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2016 (26 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Feb 2016 (26 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2016 (26 decisions)18.5% — 12 months ending May 2018 (27 decisions)16.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2018 (31 decisions)12.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2018 (39 decisions)11.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2018 (45 decisions)9.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2018 (52 decisions)8.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2018 (60 decisions)4.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (66 decisions)4.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2018 (71 decisions)2.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2019 (74 decisions)2.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2019 (77 decisions)2.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2019 (78 decisions)2.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (76 decisions)2.8% — 12 months ending May 2019 (72 decisions)1.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (68 decisions)1.6% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (61 decisions)1.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (57 decisions)2.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (51 decisions)0.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (42 decisions)0.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (35 decisions)0.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (30 decisions)0.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (27 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

34 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
November 20221Not reported
March 20203Not reported
February 20201Not reported
January 20201Not reported
December 20191Not reported
November 20192Not reported
August 20193Not reported
July 20192Not reported
June 20191Not reported
May 20191Not reported
April 20193Not reported
March 20195Not reported
February 20194Not reported
January 20196Not reported
December 20186Not reported
November 20188Not reported
October 201810Not reported
September 20188Not reported
August 20187Not reported
July 20189Not reported
June 20185Not reported
May 20185Not reported
April 20185Not reported
March 20184Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.