Immigration court

Buffalo Immigration Court

Buffalo, NY, 14202

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Buffalo Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 20.5%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

20.5%

8,607

Decisions on record

41

Judges

Court location

130 Delaware Avenue, Suite 300

Buffalo, NY, 14202

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends3.8%35.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (488 decisions)34.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (512 decisions)36.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (538 decisions)34.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (575 decisions)33.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (604 decisions)32.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (640 decisions)31.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (658 decisions)30.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (712 decisions)30.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (759 decisions)28.1% — 12 months ending May 2024 (803 decisions)29.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (857 decisions)29.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (900 decisions)29.7% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (912 decisions)29.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (913 decisions)28.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (933 decisions)28.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (923 decisions)28.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (931 decisions)28.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (948 decisions)27.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (994 decisions)27.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,026 decisions)25.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (1,050 decisions)23.8% — 12 months ending May 2025 (1,078 decisions)22.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,152 decisions)20.6% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (1,222 decisions)18.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (1,267 decisions)17.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (1,351 decisions)16.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (1,413 decisions)16.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (1,459 decisions)13.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (1,518 decisions)11.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (1,676 decisions)10.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (1,753 decisions)8.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,866 decisions)7.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (1,926 decisions)6.9% — 12 months ending May 2026 (2,023 decisions)4.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (2,273 decisions)3.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (2,426 decisions)

12 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Baumgarten, Mary C.3.9%1,765
Ruehle, Walter H.36.1%1,404
Lohr, Brandi9.5%931
Hochul, Denise49.1%821
Connelly, Steven J.23.9%798
Montante Jr., Philip J.25.3%740
Reid, John B.17.2%715
Schultz, Eric8.8%399
Driscoll, Robert13.4%284
Counihan, Brian2.7%226
Rocco, Michael37.3%158
Aikman, Susan22.2%117
Staszak, Christopher0.0%60
Harbeck, Dorothy A.16.7%30
Merriman, Joy A.13.8%29
Sydnor, Kelley NNot reported18
Johnson-Papillo, Carrie C.Not reported16
Poczter, Aviva L.Not reported13
Owens, Robert P.Not reported12
Golovnin, LenaNot reported11
Ellison, Sarah M.Not reported9
Mccarthy, James M.Not reported9
Rey Caldas, CarmenNot reported6
Freeman, D'Anna H.Not reported4
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported4
Leonard, Joseph T.Not reported4
Ghartey, Victoria L.Not reported3
Renner, Renee L.Not reported3
Hom, SandyNot reported2
Hoover, Forrest W.Not reported2
Jaroch, BrandonNot reported2
Mccormack, Nancy R.Not reported2
Sagerman, Roger F.Not reported2
Guidry, Monica ThompsonNot reported1
Lurye, MariaNot reported1
Martz, Nicholas A.Not reported1
Owens, Jonathan W.Not reported1
Rainey, ZolNot reported1
Sanders, Charles J.Not reported1
Videla, Gabriel C.Not reported1
Ward, George JamesNot reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.