Immigration court

Van Nuys Immigration Court

Van Nuys, CA, 91401

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Van Nuys Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 25.8%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

25.8%

12,517

Decisions on record

30

Judges

Court location

6230 Van Nuys Blvd. 3rd Floor, Suite 300

Van Nuys, CA, 91401

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends6.5%50.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (1,178 decisions)51.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (1,153 decisions)52.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (1,194 decisions)52.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (1,200 decisions)53.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (1,212 decisions)53.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (1,230 decisions)54.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (1,262 decisions)56.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (1,192 decisions)57.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (1,172 decisions)57.9% — 12 months ending May 2024 (1,217 decisions)58.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (1,253 decisions)60.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (1,289 decisions)60.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (1,302 decisions)59.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (1,363 decisions)58.6% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (1,378 decisions)58.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (1,401 decisions)58.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (1,456 decisions)58.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (1,440 decisions)56.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (1,536 decisions)52.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,602 decisions)47.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (1,674 decisions)44.1% — 12 months ending May 2025 (1,681 decisions)40.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,797 decisions)34.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (1,919 decisions)31.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (2,040 decisions)25.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (2,362 decisions)22.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (2,712 decisions)19.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (2,999 decisions)15.1% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (3,266 decisions)12.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,703 decisions)9.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (4,206 decisions)8.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (5,071 decisions)8.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (5,538 decisions)7.4% — 12 months ending May 2026 (5,822 decisions)7.2% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (6,207 decisions)6.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (6,387 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Dorfman, Arlene E.23.7%1,822
Medved, Paul N.17.5%1,472
Santos-Garcia, Sandra J.27.5%1,464
Marcus, Steven18.9%1,155
Chon, Hye Y.9.7%1,017
Maury, Carlos E.54.8%965
Weiner, Joseph21.6%902
Burke, David54.9%877
Park, Jeannette Lim12.8%813
Riley, Kevin W.12.2%796
Burke, Brian53.5%540
Naselow-Nahas, Tara13.7%255
Amaya, Roberto0.6%170
Brent, Jonathan Masaji.25.0%92
White, Curtis G.41.8%79
Laurent, ScottNot reported22
Tabaddor, A. AshleyNot reported17
Depowell, Bryan E.Not reported15
Chan, MatthewNot reported8
Ruane, Rachel AnnNot reported7
Sogabe, KennethNot reported7
Walker, Nathaniel B.Not reported6
Margolin, Daren K.Not reported4
Latimore, Jan D.Not reported3
Richards Jr., Marvin E.Not reported3
Vahid-Tehrani, GitaNot reported2
Costa, Philip J.Not reported1
Kim, Peter A.Not reported1
Mwangi, FrancisNot reported1
Waterloo, Jason R.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.