Immigration judge

Chon, Hye Y.

Van Nuys Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

9.7%

1,017 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

2.3%

747 decisions · 12 months ending July 2026

25.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jul 2024Dec 2024May 2025Oct 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends2.3%60.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (55 decisions)62.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (71 decisions)54.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (81 decisions)52.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (94 decisions)51.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (105 decisions)50.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (111 decisions)50.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (117 decisions)45.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (134 decisions)41.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (148 decisions)37.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (165 decisions)33.5% — 12 months ending May 2025 (170 decisions)29.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (204 decisions)22.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (215 decisions)17.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (227 decisions)15.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (280 decisions)12.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (328 decisions)9.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (356 decisions)8.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (401 decisions)7.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (431 decisions)6.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (506 decisions)6.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (588 decisions)5.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (636 decisions)4.0% — 12 months ending May 2026 (670 decisions)2.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (709 decisions)2.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (747 decisions)

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
July 2026681.5%
June 2026790.0%
May 2026611.6%
April 2026710.0%
March 2026973.1%
February 2026934.3%
January 2026362.8%
December 2025510.0%
November 2025390.0%
October 2025614.9%
September 2025633.2%
August 2025287.1%
July 20253010.0%
June 20254020.0%
May 20252722.2%
April 202523Not reported
March 202515Not reported
February 202518Not reported
January 20256Not reported
December 20246Not reported
November 202411Not reported
October 202413Not reported
September 202410Not reported
August 202416Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.