Immigration court

Detroit Immigration Court

Detroit, MI, 48226

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Detroit Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 26.2%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

26.2%

14,616

Decisions on record

110

Judges

Court location

477 Michigan Avenue, Suite 440

Detroit, MI, 48226

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends3.5%39.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (822 decisions)39.3% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (801 decisions)40.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (797 decisions)39.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (813 decisions)36.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (832 decisions)33.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (858 decisions)33.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (865 decisions)34.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (865 decisions)35.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (880 decisions)36.2% — 12 months ending May 2024 (948 decisions)35.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (928 decisions)34.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (979 decisions)33.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (977 decisions)32.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (984 decisions)32.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (976 decisions)33.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (965 decisions)32.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (952 decisions)33.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (940 decisions)30.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (983 decisions)26.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,047 decisions)22.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (1,123 decisions)19.3% — 12 months ending May 2025 (1,175 decisions)18.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (1,256 decisions)17.6% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (1,300 decisions)16.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (1,438 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (1,554 decisions)13.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (1,640 decisions)12.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (1,681 decisions)11.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (1,744 decisions)9.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (1,831 decisions)8.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (1,877 decisions)7.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,986 decisions)6.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (2,057 decisions)5.3% — 12 months ending May 2026 (2,160 decisions)4.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (2,388 decisions)3.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (2,683 decisions)

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Newberry, Robert D.30.2%2,778
Simons, Ian R.25.4%1,749
Jebson, Mark J.12.4%1,557
Gorland, Jennifer M.33.6%1,396
Hacker, Elizabeth A.28.6%1,394
Paruch, David H.34.8%1,257
Nettles, Marsha K.36.1%784
Hansen, Katherine L.15.3%557
Davey, Benjamin19.7%407
Koelsch, David C.12.1%330
Cooper, Christopher1.9%212
Walsh, John F.44.8%203
Christian, Terry C.42.0%143
Gundlach, Robert0.8%134
Graulich, James C.3.0%132
Mills, Miriam K.34.1%126
Yeargin, Robert16.5%97
Jostad, Brent2.1%94
Kallas, Denise4.1%74
Santoro, Jeremy0.0%74
Krishnan, Jill K.4.2%72
Ford, Rex J.33.8%71
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.38.9%54
Moriarty, John2.0%51
Thomas, Jason0.0%47
Sanders, Charles J.47.8%46
Karesh, Ellen0.0%40
Kassell, Joseph0.0%38
Rainey, Zol2.7%37
Guilloty, Crimilda25.7%35
Defillo, Irma Lopez16.7%30
Josephson, Kenneth46.4%28
Weisel, Robert D.65.4%26
Morace, Philip L.Not reported24
Bain, Quynh VuNot reported23
Sandron, IraNot reported22
Chapa, TeofiloNot reported20
Hallauer, Scott F.Not reported20
Gossart, John F.Not reported19
Rahill, Michael F.Not reported18
Defonzo, PaulNot reported16
Driscoll, RobertNot reported16
Montante Jr., Philip J.Not reported13
Alexander, Scott G.Not reported12
Mcmanus, MargaretNot reported12
Owens, Robert P.Not reported12
Rocco, MichaelNot reported12
Tadal, MirlandeNot reported12
Duck, John A.Not reported11
Ho, AnnaNot reported11
Laforest, BrigitteNot reported11
Seppanen, Christopher R.Not reported11
Sonom, Ronald G.Not reported11
Beamer, DaynaNot reported10
Burr, Sarah M.Not reported10
Cordova, David J.Not reported10
Hom, SandyNot reported10
Nelson, Barbara A.Not reported10
Hussey, MichaelNot reported9
Opaciuch, AdamNot reported9
Gordon-Uruakpa, Vivienne E.Not reported8
Owens, Jonathan W.Not reported8
Chew, George T.Not reported7
Imbacuan, BruceNot reported7
Bain, Terry A.Not reported6
Cassidy, William A.Not reported6
Holmes-Simmons, TheresaNot reported6
Klosowsky, MichaelNot reported6
Reichenberg, Margaret R.Not reported6
Rohan, Patricia A.Not reported6
Sichel, HelenNot reported6
Solow, Bruce W.Not reported6
Videla, Gabriel C.Not reported6
Benton, Jimmie LeeNot reported5
Brennan, Noel A.Not reported5
Copeland, Cary H.Not reported5
Livingston, Donn L.Not reported5
Schultz, EricNot reported5
Vandello, J. P.Not reported5
Hurewitz, Kenneth S.Not reported4
Wyke, William VanNot reported4
Ayala, DavidNot reported3
Cole, Samuel B.Not reported3
Hansell, Renae M.Not reported3
Lane, Denise A. MarksNot reported3
Schoppert, Douglas B.Not reported3
Bukszpan, Joanna M.Not reported2
Chase, Jeffrey S.Not reported2
Dufresne, Jill H.Not reported2
Horton, Monte J.Not reported2
Jankun, William F.Not reported2
Neal, David L.Not reported2
Riley, Teresa L.Not reported2
Shapiro, Leonard I.Not reported2
Adkins-Blanch, CharlesNot reported1
Anderson, Jack L.Not reported1
Barrett, Bruce M.Not reported1
Bronzina, IsabelNot reported1
De Angelis, Kathryn L.Not reported1
Dornell, LisaNot reported1
Drucker, RichardNot reported1
Ferris, Noel A.Not reported1
Grim, James K.Not reported1
Klein, ElizaNot reported1
Lamb, Elizabeth A.Not reported1
Mccarthy, James F.Not reported1
Reese, Agnelis L.Not reported1
Reid, John B.Not reported1
Riedthaler-Williams, Jennifer M.Not reported1
Whipple, David C.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.