Immigration judge

Averwater, Richard J.

Memphis Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

22.2%

681 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

22.4%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Dec 2016Feb 2018Apr 2019Feb 2021Mar 2023Month each 12-month window ends14.4%44.8% — 12 months ending Dec 2016 (96 decisions)42.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2017 (100 decisions)41.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2017 (107 decisions)41.3% — 12 months ending Mar 2017 (104 decisions)40.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2017 (107 decisions)37.7% — 12 months ending May 2017 (114 decisions)28.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2017 (113 decisions)30.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2017 (120 decisions)28.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2017 (118 decisions)33.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2017 (134 decisions)31.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2017 (139 decisions)26.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2017 (154 decisions)25.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2017 (155 decisions)23.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2018 (169 decisions)21.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2018 (184 decisions)18.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2018 (193 decisions)18.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2018 (204 decisions)20.8% — 12 months ending May 2018 (212 decisions)21.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2018 (218 decisions)20.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2018 (215 decisions)17.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2018 (230 decisions)15.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2018 (213 decisions)16.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2018 (220 decisions)14.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (216 decisions)13.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2018 (228 decisions)14.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2019 (213 decisions)12.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2019 (206 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2019 (232 decisions)13.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (259 decisions)12.0% — 12 months ending May 2019 (259 decisions)11.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (255 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (280 decisions)15.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2021 (266 decisions)13.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2022 (253 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2022 (233 decisions)14.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2023 (208 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
March 20231Not reported
December 20222Not reported
June 20221Not reported
February 20214Not reported
July 20193520.0%
June 201918Not reported
May 201917Not reported
April 20194316.3%
March 20194112.2%
February 201920Not reported
January 20195Not reported
December 201821Not reported
November 2018263.9%
October 201822Not reported
September 201814Not reported
August 201818Not reported
July 201810Not reported
June 201822Not reported
May 201817Not reported
April 201816Not reported
March 201815Not reported
February 20182718.5%
January 201820Not reported
December 20179Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.