Immigration judge

Walsh, John F.

West Los Angeles Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

56.4%

2,175 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

44.3%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Oct 2008Jan 2010Jul 2011Aug 2015Month each 12-month window ends79.6%63.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2008 (158 decisions)64.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2008 (150 decisions)64.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2008 (150 decisions)64.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2009 (145 decisions)68.4% — 12 months ending Feb 2009 (155 decisions)65.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2009 (158 decisions)69.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2009 (162 decisions)66.2% — 12 months ending May 2009 (151 decisions)64.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2009 (161 decisions)63.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2009 (174 decisions)66.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2009 (178 decisions)64.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2009 (178 decisions)67.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2009 (175 decisions)69.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2009 (191 decisions)68.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2009 (193 decisions)69.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2010 (203 decisions)68.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2010 (203 decisions)69.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2010 (212 decisions)70.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2010 (216 decisions)70.3% — 12 months ending May 2010 (229 decisions)72.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2010 (219 decisions)72.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2010 (217 decisions)72.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2010 (212 decisions)71.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2010 (219 decisions)72.6% — 12 months ending Oct 2010 (219 decisions)71.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2010 (213 decisions)70.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2010 (206 decisions)69.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2011 (191 decisions)69.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2011 (170 decisions)70.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2011 (149 decisions)70.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2011 (129 decisions)72.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2012 (110 decisions)76.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2012 (96 decisions)78.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2014 (79 decisions)74.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2014 (66 decisions)79.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2015 (49 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
August 20151Not reported
October 20141Not reported
September 20141Not reported
June 20122Not reported
February 20121Not reported
September 20113Not reported
August 20112Not reported
July 20111Not reported
February 20112Not reported
December 20103Not reported
November 201015Not reported
October 201017Not reported
September 201018Not reported
August 201014Not reported
July 201018Not reported
June 201016Not reported
May 201020Not reported
April 201023Not reported
March 201023Not reported
February 201022Not reported
January 201017Not reported
December 200910Not reported
November 200921Not reported
October 200917Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.