Immigration judge

Sponzo, Jem C.

New York - Federal Plaza Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

43.8%

3,171 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

4.7%

1,193 decisions · 12 months ending May 2026

61.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jun 2023Jan 2024Aug 2024Mar 2025Oct 2025May 2026Month each 12-month window ends4.7%82.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2023 (257 decisions)81.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2023 (241 decisions)82.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (233 decisions)82.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (221 decisions)82.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (228 decisions)82.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (234 decisions)86.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (237 decisions)88.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (226 decisions)88.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (194 decisions)90.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (183 decisions)90.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (180 decisions)90.1% — 12 months ending May 2024 (182 decisions)91.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (169 decisions)88.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (179 decisions)88.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (172 decisions)85.2% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (169 decisions)82.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (158 decisions)80.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (152 decisions)75.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (123 decisions)68.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (124 decisions)60.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (127 decisions)49.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (131 decisions)48.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (141 decisions)33.6% — 12 months ending May 2025 (152 decisions)31.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (163 decisions)23.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (229 decisions)23.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (252 decisions)18.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (333 decisions)13.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (468 decisions)10.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (561 decisions)8.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (633 decisions)6.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (738 decisions)5.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (813 decisions)6.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,000 decisions)4.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (1,125 decisions)4.7% — 12 months ending May 2026 (1,193 decisions)

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
May 20261023.9%
April 20261400.0%
March 20262088.7%
February 2026882.3%
January 20261210.0%
December 2025760.0%
November 20251030.0%
October 20251475.4%
September 2025916.6%
August 202524Not reported
July 2025798.9%
June 202514Not reported
May 2025348.8%
April 202515Not reported
March 202521Not reported
February 202513Not reported
January 202516Not reported
December 20244Not reported
November 202410Not reported
October 202412Not reported
September 202410Not reported
August 20241Not reported
July 202413Not reported
June 20243Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.