Immigration judge

Sichel, Helen

New York - Federal Plaza Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

74.1%

5,704 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

79.7%

93 decisions · 12 months ending November 2020

61.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%May 2017Jan 2018Sep 2018May 2019Jan 2020Nov 2020Month each 12-month window ends79.7%77.9% — 12 months ending May 2017 (263 decisions)77.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2017 (252 decisions)78.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2017 (232 decisions)76.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2017 (229 decisions)70.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2017 (196 decisions)70.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2017 (196 decisions)71.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2017 (189 decisions)72.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2017 (186 decisions)73.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2018 (191 decisions)73.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2018 (196 decisions)75.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2018 (218 decisions)75.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2018 (222 decisions)77.3% — 12 months ending May 2018 (229 decisions)76.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2018 (224 decisions)77.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2018 (252 decisions)79.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2018 (259 decisions)82.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2018 (266 decisions)82.0% — 12 months ending Oct 2018 (294 decisions)81.1% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (307 decisions)80.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2018 (303 decisions)80.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2019 (282 decisions)81.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2019 (289 decisions)79.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2019 (284 decisions)80.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (306 decisions)80.3% — 12 months ending May 2019 (289 decisions)78.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (303 decisions)78.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (301 decisions)79.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (310 decisions)78.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (307 decisions)78.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2019 (287 decisions)78.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (279 decisions)78.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (280 decisions)79.3% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (299 decisions)79.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (302 decisions)79.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (293 decisions)79.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2020 (256 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
November 20201Not reported
March 202023Not reported
February 20202885.7%
January 202022Not reported
December 201919Not reported
November 201919Not reported
October 201922Not reported
September 201921Not reported
August 20192989.7%
July 20193180.7%
June 201924Not reported
May 201917Not reported
April 20193879.0%
March 20193284.4%
February 20192580.0%
January 20193Not reported
December 201818Not reported
November 20182777.8%
October 20184281.0%
September 201824Not reported
August 201820Not reported
July 20183381.8%
June 201810Not reported
May 20183476.5%

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.