Immigration judge

Opaciuch, John

New York - Federal Plaza Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

15.3%

701 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

61.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jun 2001Dec 2002Aug 2004Feb 2006Jun 2009Month each 12-month window ends29.8%3.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2001 (80 decisions)3.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2001 (98 decisions)3.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2001 (118 decisions)3.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2001 (128 decisions)5.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2001 (153 decisions)5.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2001 (160 decisions)5.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2001 (183 decisions)6.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2002 (201 decisions)8.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2002 (213 decisions)9.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2002 (230 decisions)11.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2002 (245 decisions)12.0% — 12 months ending May 2002 (249 decisions)13.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2002 (248 decisions)15.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2002 (265 decisions)16.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2002 (278 decisions)17.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2002 (299 decisions)15.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2002 (306 decisions)14.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2002 (325 decisions)15.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2002 (324 decisions)16.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2003 (317 decisions)14.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2003 (326 decisions)14.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2003 (320 decisions)15.6% — 12 months ending Apr 2003 (327 decisions)16.5% — 12 months ending May 2003 (322 decisions)16.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2003 (330 decisions)16.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2003 (313 decisions)16.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2003 (288 decisions)17.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2003 (268 decisions)20.3% — 12 months ending May 2004 (237 decisions)22.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2004 (212 decisions)23.0% — 12 months ending Feb 2006 (191 decisions)23.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2006 (172 decisions)27.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2008 (147 decisions)29.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2009 (124 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
June 20091Not reported
April 20081Not reported
November 20061Not reported
February 20061Not reported
August 20041Not reported
May 20041Not reported
September 200311Not reported
August 20038Not reported
July 200318Not reported
June 200323Not reported
May 200324Not reported
April 20033429.4%
March 200324Not reported
February 2003263.9%
January 200320Not reported
December 200222Not reported
November 2002263.9%
October 2002320.0%
September 20023119.4%
August 20023318.2%
July 20023522.9%
June 200215Not reported
May 20022910.3%
April 20022722.2%

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.