Immigration judge

Griswold, Stephen S.

San Francisco Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

79.4%

1,222 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

63.5%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Jun 2014Feb 2015Oct 2015Jun 2016Apr 2017Feb 2018Month each 12-month window ends95.3%83.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2014 (147 decisions)85.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2014 (156 decisions)86.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2014 (147 decisions)86.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2014 (144 decisions)81.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2014 (121 decisions)82.9% — 12 months ending Nov 2014 (129 decisions)84.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2014 (133 decisions)85.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2015 (133 decisions)84.9% — 12 months ending Feb 2015 (126 decisions)83.3% — 12 months ending Mar 2015 (126 decisions)81.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2015 (138 decisions)85.0% — 12 months ending May 2015 (153 decisions)86.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2015 (173 decisions)82.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2015 (174 decisions)82.3% — 12 months ending Aug 2015 (175 decisions)81.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2015 (174 decisions)82.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2015 (176 decisions)81.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2015 (163 decisions)81.5% — 12 months ending Dec 2015 (157 decisions)80.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2016 (148 decisions)81.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2016 (149 decisions)82.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2016 (142 decisions)84.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2016 (126 decisions)81.4% — 12 months ending May 2016 (102 decisions)80.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2016 (76 decisions)87.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2016 (66 decisions)92.9% — 12 months ending Aug 2016 (70 decisions)97.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2016 (67 decisions)98.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2016 (61 decisions)98.2% — 12 months ending Nov 2016 (55 decisions)98.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2017 (53 decisions)94.3% — 12 months ending May 2017 (53 decisions)95.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2017 (42 decisions)95.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2017 (43 decisions)95.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2017 (45 decisions)95.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2018 (43 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
February 20181Not reported
November 20176Not reported
October 20174Not reported
August 20171Not reported
May 20173Not reported
April 20174Not reported
November 20162Not reported
October 20161Not reported
September 20167Not reported
August 201611Not reported
July 20162Not reported
June 20161Not reported
May 20163Not reported
April 20164Not reported
March 20163Not reported
February 201612Not reported
January 20163Not reported
December 20156Not reported
November 20158Not reported
October 20157Not reported
September 201510Not reported
August 20157Not reported
July 201512Not reported
June 20152785.2%

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.