Immigration judge

Francis, Leon J.

West Los Angeles Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

10.3%

843 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

44.3%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%May 2019May 2020Apr 2021Mar 2022Feb 2023Mar 2024Month each 12-month window ends22.6%22.6% — 12 months ending May 2019 (84 decisions)17.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (123 decisions)17.9% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (168 decisions)16.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (211 decisions)13.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (268 decisions)12.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2019 (327 decisions)10.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (377 decisions)8.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2019 (434 decisions)9.2% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (502 decisions)8.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (582 decisions)6.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (618 decisions)6.6% — 12 months ending May 2020 (591 decisions)6.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2020 (582 decisions)6.3% — 12 months ending Oct 2020 (556 decisions)5.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2020 (522 decisions)5.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2020 (498 decisions)5.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2021 (441 decisions)5.4% — 12 months ending Mar 2021 (386 decisions)6.3% — 12 months ending Apr 2021 (347 decisions)7.6% — 12 months ending May 2021 (303 decisions)5.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2021 (240 decisions)8.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2021 (162 decisions)11.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2021 (112 decisions)16.2% — 12 months ending Sep 2021 (117 decisions)16.2% — 12 months ending Oct 2021 (117 decisions)15.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2021 (111 decisions)15.6% — 12 months ending Dec 2021 (109 decisions)17.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2022 (100 decisions)15.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2022 (108 decisions)13.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2022 (108 decisions)14.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2022 (94 decisions)17.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2023 (76 decisions)22.2% — 12 months ending Jun 2023 (72 decisions)24.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (73 decisions)29.0% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (69 decisions)22.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (62 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
March 20241Not reported
January 20245Not reported
December 20236Not reported
June 20235Not reported
February 20231Not reported
September 20222Not reported
March 20225Not reported
February 20229Not reported
January 202210Not reported
December 20219Not reported
November 20217Not reported
October 20212Not reported
September 20218Not reported
August 20219Not reported
July 20215Not reported
June 20219Not reported
May 202119Not reported
April 202116Not reported
March 20215Not reported
January 20211Not reported
December 202019Not reported
November 202011Not reported
October 202013Not reported
September 20202Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.