Immigration judge

Finston, Leo A.

Elizabeth Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

29.8%

480 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

15.2%

112 decisions · 12 months ending May 2026

22.7%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Nov 2017Jun 2019May 2026Month each 12-month window ends15.2%50.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2017 (110 decisions)50.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2017 (106 decisions)47.6% — 12 months ending Jan 2018 (105 decisions)46.6% — 12 months ending Feb 2018 (103 decisions)45.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2018 (94 decisions)46.4% — 12 months ending Apr 2018 (97 decisions)42.9% — 12 months ending May 2018 (98 decisions)35.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2018 (95 decisions)33.7% — 12 months ending Jul 2018 (92 decisions)31.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2018 (90 decisions)31.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2018 (90 decisions)31.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2018 (90 decisions)27.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (87 decisions)25.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2018 (91 decisions)23.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2019 (93 decisions)21.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2019 (93 decisions)21.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2019 (99 decisions)17.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (100 decisions)17.2% — 12 months ending May 2019 (99 decisions)15.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (97 decisions)15.5% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (103 decisions)15.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (103 decisions)13.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (102 decisions)12.5% — 12 months ending May 2025 (104 decisions)11.4% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (105 decisions)12.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (107 decisions)13.0% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (108 decisions)13.6% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (118 decisions)12.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (116 decisions)14.5% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (117 decisions)12.9% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (116 decisions)13.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (116 decisions)12.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (109 decisions)13.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (116 decisions)14.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (117 decisions)15.2% — 12 months ending May 2026 (112 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
May 20261Not reported
April 20266Not reported
March 202617Not reported
February 202610Not reported
January 202610Not reported
December 20258Not reported
November 202512Not reported
October 20259Not reported
September 202515Not reported
August 202510Not reported
July 20258Not reported
June 20256Not reported
May 20256Not reported
April 20255Not reported
August 201910Not reported
July 201917Not reported
June 201910Not reported
May 20199Not reported
April 201911Not reported
March 201911Not reported
February 20195Not reported
January 20199Not reported
December 20186Not reported
November 20185Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.