Immigration court

Houston - S. Gessner Road Immigration Court

Houston, TX, 77074

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

Houston - S. Gessner Road Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 3.6%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

3.6%

13,404

Decisions on record

52

Judges

Court location

8701 S. Gessner Road, 10th Floor

Houston, TX, 77074

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends0.8%9.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (1,348 decisions)9.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (1,299 decisions)8.9% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (1,244 decisions)7.7% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (1,285 decisions)7.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (1,331 decisions)7.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (1,304 decisions)7.7% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (1,327 decisions)7.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (1,289 decisions)7.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (1,346 decisions)7.4% — 12 months ending May 2024 (1,390 decisions)6.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (1,439 decisions)7.0% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (1,458 decisions)7.2% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (1,492 decisions)6.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (1,490 decisions)6.4% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (1,505 decisions)6.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (1,489 decisions)6.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (1,480 decisions)5.8% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (1,543 decisions)5.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (1,642 decisions)5.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (1,815 decisions)4.1% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (2,010 decisions)4.1% — 12 months ending May 2025 (2,196 decisions)3.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (2,405 decisions)3.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (2,697 decisions)2.8% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (2,884 decisions)2.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (2,941 decisions)2.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (2,978 decisions)2.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (2,977 decisions)2.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (3,011 decisions)2.1% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (3,176 decisions)1.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (3,388 decisions)1.3% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (3,741 decisions)1.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (4,194 decisions)1.0% — 12 months ending May 2026 (4,916 decisions)0.9% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (5,497 decisions)0.8% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (6,008 decisions)

39 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Brown, Kevin1.7%1,752
Schumann, Christopher M.2.3%1,553
Jones, Delana M.1.4%1,364
Hoffman, Geoffrey9.7%1,356
Stawar, Andrew2.1%1,128
Joyce, Jacquelyn J.1.6%978
Cordero Gonzalez, Miguel A.2.3%880
Jenkins, Arkesia2.7%785
Paxton, David M.3.2%725
Yates, Clarease Rankin11.4%481
Andresen, Jonathan Charles.0.3%400
Thompson, Kenley6.9%336
Yeh, Lian0.0%323
Mcphail, John3.6%252
Benton, Jimmie Lee5.4%239
Dvorak, Charissa19.3%239
Sharp, Noelle4.9%142
Rose, Howard0.0%98
Crews, John G.1.1%93
Onyewuchi, Morris I.2.0%51
Walton, Richard D.0.0%37
Chapman, Kevin Jerome.0.0%29
Vo, Dat T.Not reported20
Yam, MimiNot reported20
Gonzalez, Delia I.Not reported19
Johnson, George T.Not reported18
Martin, Lionel C.Not reported12
Castaneda, JulianNot reported11
Dunkel-Bradley, DorothyNot reported11
Hart, Brandon L.Not reported9
Greenstein, Saul E.Not reported6
Leeds, Frederic G.Not reported5
Duck, John A.Not reported4
Gorman, StephanieNot reported4
Loprest, F. JamesNot reported3
Wagner, Clarence M.Not reported3
Renner, Renee L.Not reported2
Rooyani, RodinNot reported2
Bashore, Jacob D.Not reported1
Brisack, Chris A.Not reported1
Brown, JeffersonNot reported1
Garcia, MadelineNot reported1
Hansen, Katherine L.Not reported1
Hough, Robert S.Not reported1
Hughes, Edwin R.Not reported1
Kaplan, Elliot M.Not reported1
Martinez, Hugo R.Not reported1
Peterson, William C.Not reported1
Robertson, DavidNot reported1
Roepke, Thomas C.Not reported1
Terrien, JebNot reported1
Wang, LynnNot reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.