Immigration court

El Paso Detained Immigration Court

El Paso, TX, 79925

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Quick answer

El Paso Detained Immigration Court is one of the U.S. immigration courts in this record. The court-wide asylum grant rate in the release is 11.0%. Individual judges at the same court differ substantially, so open a judge below for their own figures. These are historical figures, not a prediction about any case.

Court-wide grant rate

11.0%

5,029

Decisions on record

90

Judges

Court location

8915 Montana Avenue, Suite 100

El Paso, TX, 79925

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Aug 2023Mar 2024Oct 2024May 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Month each 12-month window ends6.3%14.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2023 (341 decisions)15.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2023 (372 decisions)14.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2023 (378 decisions)14.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2023 (368 decisions)13.7% — 12 months ending Dec 2023 (372 decisions)13.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2024 (387 decisions)13.1% — 12 months ending Feb 2024 (382 decisions)13.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2024 (374 decisions)12.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2024 (375 decisions)12.3% — 12 months ending May 2024 (367 decisions)11.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2024 (373 decisions)11.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2024 (373 decisions)11.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2024 (379 decisions)10.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2024 (367 decisions)10.0% — 12 months ending Oct 2024 (381 decisions)10.3% — 12 months ending Nov 2024 (399 decisions)10.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2024 (409 decisions)9.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2025 (401 decisions)9.4% — 12 months ending Feb 2025 (406 decisions)8.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2025 (411 decisions)8.9% — 12 months ending Apr 2025 (425 decisions)8.3% — 12 months ending May 2025 (493 decisions)7.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2025 (566 decisions)7.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2025 (633 decisions)6.1% — 12 months ending Aug 2025 (683 decisions)5.5% — 12 months ending Sep 2025 (760 decisions)5.1% — 12 months ending Oct 2025 (855 decisions)4.6% — 12 months ending Nov 2025 (962 decisions)4.4% — 12 months ending Dec 2025 (1,063 decisions)4.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2026 (1,155 decisions)4.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2026 (1,233 decisions)5.0% — 12 months ending Mar 2026 (1,291 decisions)5.2% — 12 months ending Apr 2026 (1,339 decisions)5.3% — 12 months ending May 2026 (1,314 decisions)5.7% — 12 months ending Jun 2026 (1,311 decisions)6.3% — 12 months ending Jul 2026 (1,279 decisions)

8 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Judges on record at this court

Judges at this court, with lifetime grant rate and decisions on record
JudgeGrant rateDecisions
Abbott, William L.16.8%1,061
Ruhle, Stephen M.15.8%730
Pleters, Michael S.11.9%545
Tuckman, Dean S.8.7%357
Miles, Jessica K.11.0%283
Mahtabfar, Sunita B.0.5%203
Tida, Abdias E.0.5%202
Lucic, Nicholas B.0.6%178
Roepke, Thomas C.4.6%151
Gonzalez, Guadalupe R.3.1%128
Nugent, James A.8.1%111
Burkholder, Gary D.4.3%93
Smith, Penny M.8.1%87
Perez-Guzman, Virginia15.8%76
Beyleryan, David1.4%70
Herbert, Nathan L.1.5%69
Ozmun, Richard R.26.3%57
Davis-Gumbs, Xiomara Diana13.3%45
Jacobs, Richard C.6.7%45
Hough, Robert S.11.6%43
Andrasko, Matthew0.0%42
Zuniga, Bertha A.16.7%42
Polivka, James F.2.5%40
John-Baptiste, Allan3.6%28
Goodman, CynthiaNot reported24
Wells, KenyaNot reported21
Buras, Kevin N.Not reported19
Barcus, E. MarkNot reported15
Hart, Brandon L.Not reported15
Ellison, Sarah M.Not reported14
Kimball, R. WayneNot reported13
Thielemann, Christopher J.Not reported12
Ferguson, Jason D.Not reported11
Bashore, Jacob D.Not reported10
May, Jennifer A.Not reported10
Fluke, Randall L.Not reported9
Gagnon, Paul M.Not reported8
Mwangi, FrancisNot reported8
Wagner, Clarence M.Not reported8
Grim, James K.Not reported7
Cassidy, William A.Not reported6
Crews, John G.Not reported6
Eller, Donald R.Not reported6
Olmanson, Kristin W.Not reported6
Baker, Glen R.Not reported5
Ghartey, Victoria L.Not reported5
Hayward, MiriamNot reported5
Hines Jr, Glen Ray.Not reported5
Shahan, KennethNot reported5
Sitgraves, D.D.Not reported5
Straus, Michael W.Not reported5
Sydnor, Kelley NNot reported5
Ho, AnnaNot reported4
Kennedy, JaredNot reported4
Lippman, DanielNot reported4
Schools, Shelly W.Not reported4
Weiss, Daniel H.Not reported4
Anderson, David C.Not reported3
Cuevas, CarlosNot reported3
Hladylowycz, Roxanne C.Not reported3
Martinez-Esquivel, LourdesNot reported3
Martinez, Hugo R.Not reported3
Meredith, StevenNot reported3
Paredes Velasco, Adrian F.Not reported3
Archuleta, JudyNot reported2
Chapa, TeofiloNot reported2
Freeman, D'Anna H.Not reported2
Law, Philip S.Not reported2
Mcphail, JohnNot reported2
Pimentel, Frank T.Not reported2
Razo, DannyNot reported2
Sims, Deitrich H.Not reported2
Clemente, JesusNot reported1
Duck, John A.Not reported1
Feldman, Irene C.Not reported1
Garten, Danielle H.Not reported1
Greenbaum, Scott V.Not reported1
Griswold, Stephen S.Not reported1
Herrington, RobertNot reported1
Holguin, Enrique A.Not reported1
Martinez, ElizabethNot reported1
Menkin, Jeffrey L.Not reported1
Miller, Jeffrey S.Not reported1
Miller, Jr. James J.Not reported1
Mitchell, Kyle V.Not reported1
Paul, Nancy J.Not reported1
Ramirez, Laura L.Not reported1
Terrien, JebNot reported1
Williams, Samuel G.Not reported1
Wright, Virna A.Not reported1

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.