Immigration judge

Chew, George T.

New York - Federal Plaza Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

80.5%

5,822 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

Not reported

Fewer than 25 decisions on record. A percentage drawn from so few decisions would be misleading, so it is withheld rather than shown.

61.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Oct 2014Sep 2015Aug 2016Sep 2017Sep 2019Month each 12-month window ends89.4%90.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2014 (313 decisions)90.4% — 12 months ending Nov 2014 (323 decisions)90.2% — 12 months ending Dec 2014 (317 decisions)90.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2015 (320 decisions)90.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2015 (306 decisions)90.9% — 12 months ending Mar 2015 (307 decisions)91.0% — 12 months ending Apr 2015 (311 decisions)91.3% — 12 months ending May 2015 (311 decisions)91.6% — 12 months ending Jun 2015 (309 decisions)92.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2015 (302 decisions)90.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2015 (288 decisions)90.1% — 12 months ending Sep 2015 (283 decisions)89.7% — 12 months ending Oct 2015 (263 decisions)88.9% — 12 months ending Nov 2015 (271 decisions)87.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2015 (262 decisions)86.5% — 12 months ending Jan 2016 (244 decisions)86.3% — 12 months ending Feb 2016 (249 decisions)86.5% — 12 months ending Mar 2016 (245 decisions)87.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2016 (263 decisions)88.5% — 12 months ending May 2016 (278 decisions)88.8% — 12 months ending Jun 2016 (285 decisions)88.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2016 (275 decisions)89.4% — 12 months ending Aug 2016 (273 decisions)90.7% — 12 months ending Sep 2016 (291 decisions)91.6% — 12 months ending Oct 2016 (296 decisions)92.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2016 (276 decisions)92.3% — 12 months ending Dec 2016 (272 decisions)90.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2017 (275 decisions)91.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2017 (272 decisions)91.1% — 12 months ending Mar 2017 (269 decisions)89.8% — 12 months ending Apr 2017 (245 decisions)90.5% — 12 months ending May 2017 (252 decisions)90.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2017 (258 decisions)91.0% — 12 months ending Sep 2017 (255 decisions)90.5% — 12 months ending Aug 2019 (241 decisions)89.4% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (198 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

5 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
September 20191Not reported
August 20192Not reported
September 20172Not reported
June 20173393.9%
May 20173797.3%
April 201717Not reported
March 201717Not reported
February 201718Not reported
January 201713Not reported
December 201620Not reported
November 201613Not reported
October 20162592.0%
September 20164495.5%
August 201616Not reported
July 20165Not reported
June 20162796.3%
May 20163093.3%
April 20164197.6%
March 201620Not reported
February 201621Not reported
January 201610Not reported
December 201524Not reported
November 20153384.9%
October 201520Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.