Immigration judge

Cheng, Mary

New York - Federal Plaza Immigration Court

Internal preview. This section is not published. It is excluded from search engines and from the site map while the firm reviews it.

These figures are not current

Captured September 18, 2026 — about 0 months ago. Decisions made since then are not included.

Lifetime grant rate

72.1%

1,623 decisions

Grant rate, last 12 months on record

95.8%

27 decisions · 12 months ending March 2021

61.8%

Court lifetime average

Grant-rate trend

Each point is the grant rate across the 12 months ending in that month — a rolling window, not a single month on its own. A point appears only where those 12 months hold at least 25 decisions. A rolling window covers a much shorter span than the lifetime figure above, so the two can differ materially; both are correct measures of different periods.

0%25%50%75%100%Feb 2017Nov 2017Aug 2018May 2019Feb 2020Mar 2021Month each 12-month window ends95.8%77.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2017 (71 decisions)76.3% — 12 months ending Mar 2017 (80 decisions)76.3% — 12 months ending May 2017 (80 decisions)76.3% — 12 months ending Jun 2017 (80 decisions)77.2% — 12 months ending Jul 2017 (79 decisions)83.2% — 12 months ending Sep 2017 (107 decisions)83.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2017 (105 decisions)80.9% — 12 months ending Jan 2018 (94 decisions)81.8% — 12 months ending Feb 2018 (121 decisions)84.7% — 12 months ending Mar 2018 (150 decisions)87.5% — 12 months ending Apr 2018 (160 decisions)87.2% — 12 months ending May 2018 (188 decisions)88.0% — 12 months ending Jun 2018 (191 decisions)89.6% — 12 months ending Jul 2018 (192 decisions)89.6% — 12 months ending Aug 2018 (192 decisions)89.9% — 12 months ending Sep 2018 (198 decisions)89.8% — 12 months ending Oct 2018 (197 decisions)87.0% — 12 months ending Nov 2018 (162 decisions)87.0% — 12 months ending Dec 2018 (162 decisions)86.4% — 12 months ending Jan 2019 (162 decisions)86.2% — 12 months ending Feb 2019 (123 decisions)84.6% — 12 months ending Mar 2019 (91 decisions)84.7% — 12 months ending Apr 2019 (72 decisions)88.1% — 12 months ending May 2019 (42 decisions)86.5% — 12 months ending Jun 2019 (37 decisions)84.4% — 12 months ending Jul 2019 (32 decisions)84.8% — 12 months ending Sep 2019 (33 decisions)81.5% — 12 months ending Oct 2019 (27 decisions)82.8% — 12 months ending Nov 2019 (29 decisions)91.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2020 (48 decisions)92.5% — 12 months ending Feb 2020 (53 decisions)94.2% — 12 months ending Mar 2020 (52 decisions)95.1% — 12 months ending Jun 2020 (61 decisions)95.1% — 12 months ending Jul 2020 (61 decisions)95.7% — 12 months ending Jan 2021 (69 decisions)95.8% — 12 months ending Mar 2021 (72 decisions)

The line is broken where this record has no decisions for several months. It is left open rather than joined, because joining it would imply decisions that were never recorded.

6 months are not plotted: the 12 months ending there held fewer than 25 decisions.

Same judge name at other courts

This record covers one court only. The same judge name also appears at the courts below, with separate statistics.

Monthly decisions

Showing the most recent 24 months on record. Months with no decisions are not listed.

Decisions and grant rate by month for this judge
MonthDecisionsGrant rate
March 20214Not reported
January 20219Not reported
July 20201Not reported
June 202013Not reported
March 20201Not reported
February 20206Not reported
January 202021Not reported
November 20193Not reported
October 20191Not reported
September 20192Not reported
July 20196Not reported
June 20195Not reported
May 20191Not reported
April 20191Not reported
March 20191Not reported
February 20194Not reported
January 20192Not reported
December 20181Not reported
November 20182Not reported
October 20181Not reported
September 20187Not reported
August 20181Not reported
July 201811Not reported
June 201810Not reported

Source and method

These figures come from case data released by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) under the Freedom of Information Act, published by the Deportation Data Project. Imigrar did not produce or estimate them.

Captured on September 18, 2026, about 0 months ago, so it is out of date. The record covers decisions from October 1997 through July 2026; nothing filed or decided after July 2026 appears here.

Grant rates are historical aggregates. They describe decisions already made. They do not predict the outcome of any individual case, and no figure on this page should be read as a forecast of what will happen in yours.

This page is informational only and is not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Only the official EOIR record is authoritative.

Open the source dataDeportation Data Project

Questions about your own case?

Statistics cannot tell you what will happen in your case. A consultation can tell you what your options are.